◀ All Practitioners

Mona Melms

What you like best about personal training/teaching classes?

Reaching fitness goals requires confidence and commitment. I love creating an environment that encourages a healthy mind and healthy body; you can’t have one without the other.

Why did you become a trainer/instructor?

My entry into fitness came out of a need to be strong. As a breast cancer survivor, I struggled and tested my own strength and endurance on a multitude of physical and emotional levels. Keeping my body active helped me to conquer my disease. When I train and teach, I hope to inspire in my clients and students individual belief and the confidence to never give up.

Favorite type/mode type of training?

Everything and anything that contributes to a stronger leaner core. Usually this includes moves that require balance. I enjoy keeping abreast of fitness industry trends and use lots of props to give clients a kinesthetic awareness of their own body.

Your own athletic accomplishments:

I have been a group exercise instructor for over 20 years and have received certifications in several movement disciplines from Nationally accredited programs including: TRX Suspension Series, Neuromuscular Integrative Action (Nia), Johnny G Spinning, Reebok Cycle, Stott Pilates and Turquoise Mountain Pilates, AFTA, Dance Aerobics, Step Aerobics, Arthritis Aquatics programs, Body Pump and Kickboxing.

Things you are currently working on/training for:

Continuing to create all the unique features and services at melt, a true work in progress! I am also working on my blue belt in Nia and a certification in Zumba!

Hobbies/What you do when you are not training:

When I'm not working or teaching, I enjoy spending time with my family, traveling, visiting our daughters college campuses (University of Delaware & Lehigh University in PA) reading and taking long walks with friends.

Family or significant others:

My immediate family consists of my husband Tom, my daughters Mara and Liza, my step-children Jason & Jessica, their spouses and my 4 grandchildren. I have 4 sisters and 3 brothers who I try to see several times a year as well.